Connect with:
Friday / October 7. 2022

Login/Logout Subscribe Newsletter E-Magazine

HomeInputsAgro chems – FertilizersICAR-IIRR, Coromandel International host conclave on effective use of nano fertilisers

ICAR-IIRR, Coromandel International host conclave on effective use of nano fertilisers

Indian Institute of Rice Research (ICAR-IIRR) in association with Coromandel International Limited hosted a day-long conclave on ‘Effective use of Nano Fertilisers in Agriculture’ in Hyderabad. The focus of the conclave was to enable and understand the mechanism and use of nano materials/fertilisers for sustainable production in the agriculture.

Dignitaries present at the conclave included Dr. K. S. Subramanian, head – Department of Nano Science & Technology, TNAU, Coimbatore; Sameer Goel, managing director, Coromandel International Limited; Shankar Subramanian, president – Fertilisers, Coromandel International Limited; Dr A Subbarao, former director, ICAR-IISS, Bhopal; Kalidas Pramanik, EVP – Marketing, Coromandel International Limited and Dr. M. B. B. Prasad Babu, principal scientist – IIRR, Hyderabad.

The inaugural address was delivered by Subramanian wherein he emphasised the importance and use of nano fertilisers along with the role of private industries to take up this innovation to the farmers for better reach and appreciated the work carried out by the ICAR institutes on nano technology. It was followed by his inputs on the involvement of public private partnership in the nano fertiliser development and their inclusive growth in the agricultural input management. Subject matter specialists from other institutes, Dr Manoj Srivastava (IARI); Dr. S.S. Mukopadhyay (PAU); Dr TNVKV Prasad (ANGRAU); Dr Rahul Kumar (UoH); and Dr Elanchezhian (ICAR-IISS) presented their work and opened up new avenues in applications of nano technology for sustainable agriculture. The event also included a panel discussion on “Current relevance and scope of nano fertilisers in agriculture which was chaired by Dr A Subbarao. The meeting ended with a formal vote of thanks by Dr. Brajendra Parmar.

No comments

leave a comment